With the change of seasons and the cooler nights, nothing is more relaxing than curling up beside a crackling fire with a glass of wine and a good book. If you are at a literary loss, allow me to recommend Who by Fire , a debut novel by Diana Spechler.

Aryn Kyle, bestselling author of The God of Animals describes Spechler’s novel as;

 “Impossible to put down, Who By Fire is a remarkable tale about fear and forgiveness and the bonds that hold a family together even as its members are falling apart. It’s a beautiful novel.”

Since I haven’t finished reading it yet, I won’t spoil it for you. What I will say is the characters are so well developed, that I am finding myself rooting for each dysfunctional one of them.

If you are in the area, Diana has an upcoming reading at McIntyre’s Fine Books in Fearrington Village at 220 Market Street in Pittsboro, NC on October 16, at 7:00 p.m. She will be appearing with another novelist, a North Carolina native, William Conescu. Admission is free and it should be a great event!

