I attended last night’s Obama Town Hall in Raleigh and I have to say while I do not feel it was one of his strongest speeches, seeing the man in person is something I hope everyone gets a chance to experience. The energy in the crowd was one of excitement and desire, a desire for change and a renewed sense of hope for a country that has been beaten and battered by an abusive, criminally corrupt administration.

A memorable moment for me in the evening was during the Q&A session. A disabled veteran rose to ask a question and then stated he lived in a homeless shelter, needless to say that realization really upset the audience. “Is this supporting our troops, I want no part of it” shouted a gentleman behind me. Obama quickly pointed out that we have to give our veterans services and support from day One. This is a “fundamental right for all of our servicemen and women” who defend our country. The current administration and it’s minions have neglected and forgotten the very people they claim to support.

Sadly it made me think about all of the men and women who are returning home from Iraq and Afghanistan a mere fragment of the soldiers that went there. This lead me to research for myself what McCain’s record was in regards to military support and veteran benefits. I mean after all the man a highly decorated veteran, so surely he is making sure our troops are receving the services and equipment they deserve, right. Wrong what I found shocked me to the core. See for yourself here, here, here, here and here.

Consider just a few votes by John McCain against veterans, Source: Capital Hill Blues

McCain voted against an amendment providing $20 billion for VA medical facilities [5/4/06]

McCain voted against providing $430 million to the VA for outpatient care and treatment for veterans [4/26/06]

McCain voted against increasing VA funding by $1.5 billion by closing corporate loopholes [3/14/06]

McCain voted against increasing VA funding by $1.8 billion by ending abusive tax loopholes [3/10/04]

The man even voted against giving combat duty troops more time at home between extended tours.

Keith Obermann sorts out McCain voting record in more detail.

Then consider today’s statement made by John McCain’s that “he doesn’t disagree that we would need a military draft to do everything he wants” sent me over the edge. From VoteVets.org “At a town hall in Las Cruces, NM, a woman said she could not see doing everything McCain wanted, and would not have the troops under his plan to follow Osama bin Laden to the “gates of hell” without a draft.  In response, McCain said, “I don’t disagree with anything you said.”

So if you want a draft then “More War McCain” is the president for you. After all that is what good loyal NeoCon PNACers do very well. For me I’m doing everything I can to see to it that he never get’s that honor.

My opinion of McCain:

